Beginner questions about CO OTC units

Mvmnts

I'm moving to Colorado this summer and am diving right in on an elk hunt. I plan to hunt OTC Archery and 3rd Season Rifle. (I missed the deadline to buy a point this year, DOH) I've been studying up on all of the different facets of the hunt and I have a couple questions I have had a hard time searching for.

It is my understanding that I can get an OTC tag for cow and bull elk in many units for archery. Any elk that I could get into the freezer would be a trophy to me. :D

1. Do the published hunter success rates take into account all of the OTC hunters? If not, is it still worth considering success rates for OTC units?

2. Should I try to find a "better" unit that is further away, or should I pick a "lesser" unit that is close to home so I can scout more over the summer? (2hr drive time, vs 5hr drive time for example)

I'm always hesitant to ask questions I know have been answered a bunch of times, but I assure you I am studying hard and have been spending countless hours learning all things elk. I just want to get these few questions checked off my list so I can pick a unit and start scouting. Thanks in advance everybody!

First... you can't hunt both Archery and Rifle unless one is an A tag and one is a B, all bull tags are A. Your best bet is to hunt archery and then do cow (B) hunt, but the drawing is passed so you need to get a left over license on Aug 1st when they go on sale. Also note that many of the units are private land only so make sure you read the fine print.

1. Success rates definitely give you a general idea... also look at number of hunter that will tell you how crowded things are going to be.

2. I have done both and I prefer the 5 hour drive... you can also pic a spot to hunt in a unit that is 5+ miles from a road and that will help your chances (I assume you moving to the Denver metro)