Caribou Gear

Alaska blacktail/sea duck rookies, because life is too short

Hunting Wife

Hunting Husband and I have been contemplating a hunting trip to Alaska for several years now. It was something we thought we'd do "someday", when we had more time, more money, more I don't know what. But lately, it seems like we've lost quite a few people close to us who were way too young, and it's been hard to shake that feeling that life is far too short and you better get to work on doing the things you really don't want to miss out on, while you are still able. So we pulled the trigger on a trip to the Kodiak Archipelago for blacktails and sea ducks. Hunting Husband has hunted Alaska and northern Canada for caribou and moose before, but it will be my first trip north, and new species for both of us.

We chose the week of Thanksgiving because we wanted a chance at some mount-worthy waterfowl. A nice Harley and a Long-tailed duck would make the duck hunt a smashing success. Waterfowl will be guided so we can take advantage of the watercraft, layout boats and decoys without the hassles of doing those on our own, but deer will be DIY with a transporter on Raspberry Island. It seems like that time period is still a decent time to chase blacktails, I hope! I think we'd both be tickled with just a pretty, representative buck. Not really planning on taking more than one deer apiece - it will only be 5 hunting days (with probably 3 devoted entirely to deer if weather/circumstances don't interfere), so I hope that proves doable. No idea what to expect, but don't want to be overly optimistic/unrealistic. I'm also hopeful that I might turn up a fox - I've always wanted a nice one.