CO 2nd Rifle Mule Deer

PRM

For you experts out there, when do find the Mulies move down from the high country towards their winter range? Looking for a strategy for Co 2nd rifle and debating whether to consider the high country an option. My guess is during 2nd rifle (mid to late Oct) there may be some high, but starting to trend down lower. Clearly weather has a say and I'm thinking in general at this stage.

I'm not an expert but I've hunted second season several times in Colorado. Most of our success is in what I would consider transitional areas (mainly oak brush) with an elevation range of 7,500 to 8,800 feet. During the course of the season we see deer moving in from what I would assume is higher country. Even with the warm weather this past year we saw a lot of deer moving in and in some cases through to the country below us. We've killed a couple of nice bucks in winter range area during second season as well. I would guess you can have some success in higher country in 2nd season but I would be ready to move and have some lower country scoped out if your not having success.

I've found it to be hit and miss yearly. Some years they're higher, some years they're lower. If you want to have the best chance for success I would have multiple spots in higher and lower country scouted out. Where I hunt weather/water has been the biggest factor but not in quite the way you would think. The lower country where I hunt is pretty dry, and it takes some rain down lower or there won't be many deer. Which is funny, since most people would assume that you need weather up high to push deer down. In my case you need weather down low to pull deer in. Just something to consider; not sure what types of areas you're looking at. Best of luck

Appreciate the comments. I'll be looking at maps and putting together a plan and then refine if I draw a tag. I think 2nd will be tough in that they could really be anywhere and won't quite have the rut kicked in to get them moving.