Caribou Gear

Packable Fishing Pole

LandDiver

Anybody have any experience with pack able fishing poles? Something that can easily fit in your hunting pack. Just for trout.

Thank you!

I have a 5 piece Cabelas fly rod. It easily straps to my pack or fits inside it if I have room.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    46.7 KB · Views: 482
I carry a 7FT, 3pc, 3weight Lamiglas fly rod. I think it's the appalachian travel series but I don't think they make it anymore. The factory tube it came in was needlessly long so I bought a shorter one.

Last edited:
Fly or spinning? There are plenty of packable fly rods out there, so I would assume you are talking spinning. I have a pretty nice light action St Croix 4 piece, that is great for packing. I think they go for about $100 at the big box stores.

Whoops sorry. Yes spinner would be preferred. I have no experience with fly rods. It would be for my son (10) to use as well.

I have a zebco that I use I've cought plenty of nice trout with it I just keep my reel of it it.

Collapsible spinning or casting rods do ok but not with big fish or heavy lures. You can usually find one under $50. There are also some that are in smaller peices that you assemble. My experience is that these are generally a better quality and have a little better feel. Probably looking at or just above $50. I will say though, the collapsible poles sure are handy, hook the last eye with your lure and it keeps it collapsed. Its not fancy, but it may let you find out if you really want to pack something in without spending much money. I think ours are shakespear and diawa combos. The diawa was in sections and had a cheap plastic case that would hold a few lures and some sinkers.

I have a 7 piece 7' 4 wt which can be converted to a 6' 6 piece March Brown fly rod. It works really well for backpacking.

Thank you everyone. I'll start looking for them. Hopefully Cabela's or Walmart has some of these so I can see them.

Appreciate it.