Caribou Gear

Colorado and Montana residency requirements

Pagosa

I could possibly be moving back to western Colorado this September for work and leaving Montana. I read the residency requirements for Colorado, which is similar to Montana. I've been a Montana resident for 4 years and plan to rifle hunt elk/deer in late Oct as a resident and possibly buy a NR Colorado license for elk, mtn. lion, bobcat in the 2017 season. My question is if I change my drivers license from Mt to Co by late September per the DMV laws can I still hunt Montana as a resident in Oct 2017? My vehicle plates do not renew until November so I would change those then. Thanks, Preston

I think the requirement is that your primary residence is in the state of Montana for six months prior to the opening date of the hunting season. I actually planned my move back home to Montana in 1999 around this requirement. Leaving in September may be an issue. I'd call FWP to be sure. mtmuley

I'm pretty sure you are good to go. As long as you haven't been gone from Montana long enough to establish residency in CO (assuming 6 months?) and you are hunting Colorado as a nonresident I don't think there is any reason you can't utilize the resident Montana license you bought while you were a resident. You can only be a resident of one state and if you are not legally a resident of Colorado you are still legally a resident of Montana until you meet the legal requirements for residency in Colorado.

I don't know Colorado law but Montana states you must reside in the state for 180 days, have your vehicles registered in Montana and have your voter registration switched to Montana before you can be considered a resident. All three conditions must be met.

Last edited: