Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

ID Unit 39 Rifle Elk

Maxxis31

Hey guys. I've been hunting the late ID deer hunt for a couple years now and next year I am planning on doing the "B" tag elk hunt. I am trying to find a OTC elk hunt where we can find decent bulls so that I have a place to bring my boys in a couple years when they are old enough to hunt elk. My oldest is 10 and will be 11 this summer so he should be able to join in 2018. Here at home they only really only have 1 guaranteed chance of drawing a branch bull tag before they are adults. I grew up hunting out of an elk camp every year with my dad and grandparents here in North East Oregon and unfortantly here in Oregon the only thing we can do is hunt spikes or apply for cow tags which would make it to where we could never draw branch bull tags.

I plan on hopefully bringing dad along this year to find a good spot and the boys next year if we are successful. I would like to find a spot in 39 so I don't have to move camp for the late deer hunt. We are willing and able to put on several miles a day I normally hunt up into the roadless areas here in Oregon and take the family backpacking at least once during the summer for a several day trip.

Any advice on areas to check out, tips or tactics would be very much appreciated. We have been hunting elk for a long time here in Oregon and have done well but the last 10 years or so we haven't set up elk camp but two times and my boys have never been. This is something I loved growing up and want to be able to carry on the tradition for my kids.

Thanks in Advance,
Curtis

IMG_6957.jpg

I haven't hunted 39 or have any info on that. However if you've been getting the boys youth mentor points there is no reason you can't hunt imnaha branch bull at least 3 times before they grow up and move off to college etc. My party seems to draw the bull tag every 3-4 years on average.