Suggestions for a good Elk cartridge?

Sjackson

Let me first state that I am brand new to the Fourm and Elk hunting in general. A buddy and I have made kind of a new commitment to travel and hunt the west. It captivates my imagination pretty much every moment of every day, probably to the shagrin of my fiance haha. Ill like to start putting together a really qualitly elk gun. Everything i have read and researched has put a premium on shot placement, which makes total sense. I really enloy reading everyones opinions and threads on this fourm because of the kind of street smart common sense that is displayed here and on the "Fresh Tracks" tv show. I own a 30.06 Remington that has kind of been used an abused over the years. Im looking for something that would be light to moderate in the recoil realm. Any suggestions and opinons would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much for your time.

I would recommend you search the forum, as this has been asked many times, and a few very recently.
I shoot a 300WM.

A .270 or .308 would be my suggestion. I would lean towards the .308, IMO. If your future wife is going to hunt with this new gun. . . . . I suggest the .270.

No problem we all love to argue over miniscule differences in performance. As suggested anything like 270, 7mm-08, 308 or similar may fit the bill. Any of the three would be more than enough but like someone once told me, you can't go wrong with a bigger bullet so maybe I'd lean to the 308. Maybe a howa alpine and then take up schmaltz on the special he runs for hunt talkers with a new howa and put a vx3 on it and your set for life. If money is tight or there are other things you need, just stick with the 06. Lord knows an elk doesn't care.

What rifles are you considering?

Given how often this question comes up, we did this video on the topic.

[video=youtube_share;Cfd3XkHDaDA]https://youtu.be/Cfd3XkHDaDA?list=PLLdxutimd-JucEFczP4LgCS75Lt7caIMm[/video]