Caribou Gear Tarp

New to NC, New to Hunting, and New to Hunt Talk

bo.bulger

Hello. I recently accepted a job in Wake County, NC and move my family from MA. Now that we're in a gun friendly state and have a bit more means to enjoy it, I'm just getting into hunting. I've had the bug since I was a kid in Texas, but never had the opportunity. I found Randy's YouTube channel and like the thought of hunting public land, unguided, with a pack and rifle. I never saw myself sitting in a blind or tree stand watching a feeder. I like to hike and camp, and this style suits me. I look forward to reading your tips, suggestions, and instructions to help me be successful in the field and put food on the table.

I lived in Raliegh for several years, really liked it. There are several hunting clubs in the area that you might think of joining. Some may have a waiting list, but worth it to get some guys that might mentor you. That will sharply cut down your learning curve. It probably won't be the style you referenced above, you'd have to go to the western part of the state and even then its more hills than mountains. Still, likeminded guys getting together and sharing stories would be fun.

Welcome to NC and HuntTalk! I will say that, NC hunting is nothing like that of the West, but is far better than MA! Finding a place to hunt around Wake Co will be tough, but that area does have some good quality Whitetail for NC standards. Anyway, I'd definitely focus on heading west to hunt if I were you. As for hunting over a feeder, not my thing either and have never done it, but it is definitely a common hunting practice around here.