Save $100 on the Leupold VX-3HD

Let's talk trail/game cameras

This last elk season I found an area in the backcounry that is highly concentrated with bulls, I wasn't able to connect with one but I had eyes on three wall hangers and found myself standing in a bull group "den" of sorts that looks to have been used for years.

With that said, I live across the country from this spot but am able to get out there through out the year. I am looking for trail camera ideas that are up to the task of being on station for several months at a time. I have ZERO experience with these gadgets, hence my inquiry. I may have an opportunity to hike out to this area in the next month or so to place a camera.

I am open to suggestions of actual cameras or comments related to the efficacy of following features in the list below. Clearly, some of these features will significantly increase the cost, I am just getting ideas at this point, I do have a budget but need to gather the big picture first.

Some of the features I'd like:

1. High Resolution (the area I am targeting is dense timber, thus the better the resolution, the better the photos in low light)
2. High photo storage capacity (the better the resolution, the lower the storage capacity, right?)
3. Solar powered/charged
4. Water Proof (I can't imagine one not being water proof)
5. Location/Date/Time Stamp
6. Satellite transmission of photos - I'm sure this isn't a cheap feature, but just curious - cell service is not an option in this area.
7. Black Flash
8. Quiet
9. What features have I not asked about that I should know about?

Thanks in advance...looking forward to the learning curve!