Yeti GOBOX Collection

New Mexico Archery Elk

toprut

This year I was lucky enough to have drawn a 2nd season archery elk tag in New Mexico's famed Gila region. To say I feel blessed would be an understatement.

The hunt starts on 9/15 and I'll be making the 1000 mile drive the day before. Although having no days to scout prior to the opener is kind of a bummer, I feel pretty good about things since I was in the unit twice over the summer. This will be a DIY, solo hunt. I'll have all 10 days of the season to get it done.

Most of that area has zero cell service so sending timely live hunt updates isn't really possible via cell phone. But I do have a Delorme InReach to send satellite messages. Love that thing! I'm an I.T. guy by trade so I was able to setup some processes that will pick up my satellite messages and post them to this live hunt thread automatically in near real time. Live hunt via Delorme!

This should be interesting as InReach messages are limited to 160 characters meaning I will need to piece together a narrative with frequent but short updates. And I'll probably make it into the Reserve area a couple times over the hunt to add some pictures. We'll see how it goes.

Over the next few days I'll be posting a few things here as I prepare to leave for the hunt. And of course I'll be doing some of that with the InReach to make sure the bugs are worked out. Should be an adventure!

Good luck. Sounds like a great thread to follow.

Good luck. I blast off on Monday for the same general part of the state. Hope to find some grouse while I am there. ;)

Not that it's any big secret, but my own irrational superstition prevents me from saying which unit until the hunt is over. It starts with a 1. :)

The last time I was on a successful solo elk hunt I was totally unprepared to take photos. It's a real regret that I don't have any good harvest pics to look back on. This time I have vowed to do something different.