Hogs In Ohio, Questions

w.fugitt

Hello guys I'm new to hunt talk and new to hog hunting. I've been deer hunting here in Ohio since I was a kid, but have really been interested in the idea of hog hunting. Its really Ohio's only other medium game spices. I have been looking at Zaleski state forest and Wayne national forest. Zaleski seems the most promising, as it is surrounded in an L pattern by three canned hunting operations, I know Lame, and I can only surmise that the hogs in Ohio escaped from these places and began breeding on public land. Not asking for anyone's secret hunting spot. haha Just curious if anyone has hunted hogs in Ohio? what are things to consider? Do you Pretty much have to bait them? Any advice or info is helpful really appreciate it.

According to the ODNR the greatest concentration of verified populations can be found in southeastern Ohio where known breeding populations of feral swine have been confirmed in Adams, Ashtabula, Athens, Belmont, Gallia, Hocking, Jackson, Lawrence, Monroe, Ross, Scioto, and Vinton counties. Normally baiting is the way hogs are hunted and I shot quite a few down in the brush country of south Texas when I was younger. The smaller ones are excellent table fare.

I live right in the middle of the Ironton District of Wayne National forest (Lawrence county) and spend tons of time all throughout the forest year round and have yet to even see a track from one, we also run about 15 cameras all the spring summer and fall and never gotten a pic. I have saw some trailcam pics floating around from the area though and a few grip and grins but those were all from guys that happen on some while gun hunting for deer. I have heard of some concentrations around the Cadmus area though.

Cool well thank you guys, Thanks baz77 Ill look into cadmus. I think the area of Wayne with hogs is near Nelsonville.