Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

Cooper Model 92

adamjcook

I just saw the new Cooper Model 92 Backcountry rifle from the SHOT show, so named because it weighs 92 ounces. As a Montana resident I'm always up to support an in state company but this rifle looks really great. Jewell trigger, Wilson Arms barrel and the usual Cooper quality should make a really sweet package. No idea on the cost or exact arrival time yet but this one has a spot on my wish list.

I'm very interested to see some more info on this rifle also. Been researching it tonight and so far I like what I can find about it. Curious to see the price tag on it though. Sounds like they may be taking orders towards the end of the month.

From the one picture and short blurb I read about the rifle it has my interest, especially if they offer it for lefties. Looks like a good one, but I'm afraid the cost might be prohibitive for me.

Can't wait to get more details. I like the idea of custom rifle performance with a name most folks will recognize should you decide to sell (crazy.....but I always like having options).

I heard they would go for about 3K.

Kimber Montana still wins the LW game.....by a long shot.

Does anybody have experience with the Cooper Backcountry?

A 300 Win Mag comes in at 5lb 12oz. That same caliber in Kimber Mountain Ascent is 6lb 7oz.

Is it worth $800 to save 11oz? I think probably not, but the Cooper has a 1/2 MOA guarantee vs the 1 MOA guarantee on the Kimber, which is irrelevant in most hunting situations, but I wonder if it's indicative of overall quality... which might make it worth spending the extra money.

I got to hold a Cooper a few weeks ago and my buddy has a new Kimber coming next week so I can compare a little better, but I'd love advice if anybody has some to share.

I'd rather let most anyone punch me in the face as shoot a sub 7lb 300wm.

While i disagree, I agree.