Montana unit 652 buck tag

mlnelson

I drew the buck tag for 652! Now I am looking for any info. I can get. I have been hunting in the breaks for over 10 years but I have never been that far east. What should I hold out for?Where should I start looking. I have a boat and I'm not afraid to hike. Thanks!!

I agree with Wingman1 if you see a 160 you prob better shot him in that unit. Not sure if the numbers are down in that unit like the rest of the breaks I assume they are.

Numbers are still way down from the winter of 2010-2011. Just go out and enjoy your hunt. Quality will not be great but due to the limited permits it won't be as crowded as other areas in the Breaks can be. I wouldn't be afraid to pass a 160, but I wouldn't be afraid to eat the tag after looking for something bigger.

I have had the tag 4 times in the last 11 years and my Dad had it three years ago.Fun hunt. I cant tell you how many times I have run into hunters with a general A tag hunting in 652. Most people don't have a clue its a permit area and as mentioned above there is a poaching problem. Mainly from boaters.. With that said I have also been all over the area and would like to share some info. on the area. I noticed you are in SW MT. where at?

I drew that tag also! I was super excited but reading this it doesn't sound like there is much trophy bucks there. I would be happy with 160 as that would be the biggest buck of my life. Is there any place to camp nearby? Where would be a good place to focus on? Mlnelson I'll be making some scouting trips soon, when the season opens ill be taking a weeks vacation.

I drew that tag also! I was super excited but reading this it doesn't sound like there is much trophy bucks there. I would be happy with 160 as that would be the biggest buck of my life. Is there any place to camp nearby? Where would be a good place to focus on? Mlnelson I'll be making some scouting trips soon, when the season opens ill be taking a weeks vacation.