Yeti GOBOX Collection

Confused about Hogs

NV_ARCH3R

I'm confused here,If the hogs in the South and California etc. are such a problem, destoying property, killing livestock. Driving farmers out of business. Wouldn't you think they would be paying hunters to come in and kill as many as possible instead of charging $ to hunt em?

I'm not an expert on the subject but seems like lots of people want them GONE. On the other hand i think that there is another group who want to manage them like big game and ''cash in'' on another opportunity.

IMO they should be shot on sight, nothing more than vermin.

I can't get that link to work for me, but here is my take on it.

I can't answer for everybody, but hunting hogs is not an effective way to eradicate them, whether we are doing it or you paid someone to do it. We have hunted with guns, we have had hunters with dogs, we have had traps (which is probably the best method we have found) but they are still here.

The hogs are nomadic, when they show up and get pressured, they simply move on and leave their carnage behind. When they come back, we do it again. Hunting them either by gun or dogs, you can kill a few before they are gone, but nowhere near enough to hurt the population. The damage the can do in one night alone is astounding when you get a herd of 15 to 20 or more rooting in moist sandy soil,

I'm confused here,If the hogs in the South and California etc. are such a problem, destoying property, killing livestock. Driving farmers out of business. Wouldn't you think they would be paying hunters to come in and kill as many as possible instead of charging $ to hunt em?

Archer as long as shooters will pay, they will be money 'hunted'. Like jabber said, they are nomadic and destructive eating machines with truncated gestation periods, keen to pressure, and breed like mosquitoes.