PEAX Equipment

Vortex Razor 11-33

Baerman

Anyone have any insight on this scope? I have an opportunity to pick up any Vortex spotter and the guy selling them actually suggested the smaller of the three for it's packability. Supposedly it's becoming the hot item with sheep guides. I'm wondering if it's hot because they already have spotters with big glass.

I actually just ordered the little 50mm Razor a couple days ago, should get it this week. Supposedly it's the top 50mm spotter out there just edging out the Nikon. I'm not an optics expert but I can let you know what I think when I get it this week.

I got to play with it quite a bit and it is a lot of spotter in a compact package. I don't think you can do much better in the 25oz, sub 12" OAL category.

The only limitation I see is if you really need to count rings on a sheep or other very precise use it may handicap you a bit compared to a 20-60x60 or 80mm.

So what would you say the effective range of distance would be for it for judging deer, goats, or elk? I don't really have any experience with spotters, and I'm trying to figure out what I really need for magnification. Living in eastern MT now you sure can see a long way! I like the size of the compacts and figure if I can't tell what a critter is like with 30x magnification, I'm not going to be able to get to it anyways.

So what would you say the effective range of distance would be for it for judging deer, goats, or elk? I don't really have any experience with spotters, and I'm trying to figure out what I really need for magnification. Living in eastern MT now you sure can see a long way! I like the size of the compacts and figure if I can't tell what a critter is like with 30x magnification, I'm not going to be able to get to it anyways.