MR help

Huntfit

My first post on ONYOA, hope I havn't broken protocol.

My background is operating as a frontline military operator, leaping out of aeroplanes to get into a gunnfight and backpack hunting since I was about 12 years old. I have always preferred ann external frame setup, and since joining the military, became a huge fan of the ALICE pack. However, I believe there can always be room for improvement, and it appears MR has found that room. I live in Australia and a company here works in partnership with MR to improve what is on offer to soldiers at the sharp end.

I am very insistant on travelling light and find the bigger the pack, the more crap you put in it type thing. Imo I feel that the Wolf Alpha would be plenty for my requirements and would love to hear from anyone with MR experience that can offer some handy info on the packs in the field. I have carried heavy loads around the world in more places that i'd care to remember, but, nothing substitutes first hand experience, some comparisons withe the ALICE pack would be good, bearing in mind, I generally live like an old smelly billy goat when on the hill.

Many thanks.

Thanks for your service.

I have not used the ALICE pack system, so I am not of much help in any comparisons. Hopefully someone on this site has. We have more MR pack users on this site than probably any site on the web, so this might be a place to get some feedback, even if it is from a hunting perspective, rather than military.

Thanks for the reply Big Fin. It is the hunting experience that I am after, not a soldier anymore, but pretty passionate about my backcountry hunting, would love to see some images of the Wolf Alpha in action.

Welcome fellow soldier. I'm retired from the US Army. I was a frontline combat medic with combat tours in Desert Storm, Bosnia, and Iraq.