Point and Shoot

trouthunterdj

Hello all,

I am looking for a new point and shoot for a couple Western hunts this fall. I would like to here any recommendations and opinions.

Thanks

ddj

I am looking to find a camera for under $500

Thanks,

ddj

I got my girlfriend a Canon Powershot sx230 HS for Christmas last year and we both really like it. It is a compact camera but it has 14x optical zoom which is nice for taking hunting shots in big western landscapes. It was around $200 when I bought it, so it is much under your budget and there may be better cameras for that kind of money. I did a lot of researching before I bought it and we were both really happy with it. You may be interested in the new model that they came out with in the meantime. It is the big brother of this camera and is called the canon powershot sx260 HS. It has a very impressive 20x optical zoom and it can also take a little wider angle shot on the bottom end of the zoom. I'm not an expert on cameras by any means, but I'd give it a look if I were you. I think it is in the $350 range.

I switched to DSLR cameras a few years ago and so I don't have recent enough experience to recommend a specific model in the point-n-shoot category, but if you're taking photos of wildlife you can never have enough zoom (at least I rarely get as close as I'd like) and image stabilization is a big plus as well. For a couple of places to look around I'd suggest cnet reviews and B&H Photo. Use the search filters and look for lots of zoom and good reviews. Good luck & I look forward to seeing you post some photos in the near future. Remember, LOTS of zoom................

I've been really happy with the Lumix ZS7 I bought a couple years ago. It's about as user friendly as they can get, with an intelligent auto setting that seems to work really well.

I don't think they make the ZS7 anymore, but it'd be worth checking out whatever they have out new.

+1 for the Panasonic Lumix.