7mm-08

6speed

I am looking for a hunting rifle for my wife, just don't tell her, I want something that will work for deer and elk and not produce too much recoil. My wife is 5'4 1/2" (don't forget the 1/2) and about 120 lbs (Really 125 but if she found out I posted her weight on the internet she would blow a gasket) Any way I am looking at a youth model rifles and see a lot of them come in 7mm 08. I have no first hand knowledge of this round and although I have been hunting since I was old enough I can't remember ever hunting with anyone who had one. I reload my 7 mm WSM so I figure it might be worth looking in to. I was looking at a 308 originally but now I'm curious about this other 7mm.

I don't have any experience with the 7mm-08, but you may want to invest in a body guard after posting your wife's weight on the internet.:D God speed.

The 7mm-08 is a necked down 308 cartridge and is part of a family of cartridges based on the .308 Win. The smaller case results in what I consider to be mild and very tolerable recoil. It should be good for bullet weights form around 130 grains to around 160 grains. Muzzle velocities should run around 3000 FPS for the light bullets to around 2600 FPS for the heavy bullets. You need to decide what weight bullets you would want to shoot, but around 140- 150 grains should be pretty good. The rifle may prefer one bullet over the others. I like all of the cartridges in this family. My next rifle will be a 260 Rem, which is a 6.5mm-08. This will be for coyote to deer.

Thanks for the replies. Great pics Gunner I hope to be able to put some like that up myself this fall.

If you're concerned with her flinching at all, sift through those 'youth' models real well. I'd stay away from any of the ones with short barrels, like anything shorter than 20", because they create quite a bit of muzzle blast.