History of hunt talk?

Big O

Still a relative newbie here so forgive my ignorance. Just curious, how did this forum start? Sounds like Moosie started it, right? What year was that and what was it called? Randy took over at some point? I was reading Buschy's post and it got me to thinking about all this. Looks like some of the guy's have been around a long time. I think the longevity of this is pretty cool.

Love the site.

I will let Moosie talk about the beginning. Here is how I got involved.

I followed over here from a different site that I think we all hung out on back around Y2K. The original guys on Hunt Talk were something of the cyber hunting version of One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest. That other site where we hung out is now defunct (I think), and with good reason.

I can't remember when I started posting regularly, but it was under my second registration that I finally posted a few pics and stories. Not sure what happened to my first registration and was too lazy to ask Moosie to find it, so I just re-registered.

Moosie contacted me in late 2008 and asked if I had any interest in taking it over. Neither he, or anyone else, knew I had started the TV show. I knew this was the best group of serious western big game hunters to be found anywhere on the web. Still is, and if anything, the group of Hunt Talkers is getting bigger and better every month.

I figured it would be cool if we could keep Hunt Talk alive, and hoped that with the TV show, we could grow it even further and improve on some things. Hopefully we accomplished that. Given what I see posted on here every fall, I think we have.

I see no other place where so many great trophies get posted and cool stories told. There are many guys on here that would be the real Pro Hunters, if they ever took an inkling to be professional writers or TV show hosts. This year is no exception. The quality of the elk and pronghorn taken are beyond any other site, and most of those trophies are taken self-guided.