Yeti GOBOX Collection

Point and Shoot

----

Kaitie and I are looking at a new point and shoot that we can use in Hawaii, then will be my hunting camera from there out.

These are the two I'm looking at right now.
http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-DMC-ZS7-Digital-Stabilized-3-0-Inch/dp/B00395WIXA/

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-PowerShot-SX130IS-Stabilized-3-0-Inch/dp/B003ZSHNG8/

We're going to be maxed out at about 250. Any suggestions? or ideas on what would be the better between these two?

I'd like to get one with the little bit higher zoom if possible.

I use a Canon G-9 for my pack camera. I have had good results from Canon cameras both in picture quality and durability. I would pay less attention to the megapixel rating and more attention to other features. Cheap camera optics usually negate any megapixel advantage. Look for features like weather resistance.

Panasonic is a good brand, but I have no experience with them. My digital cameras have been Canon or Olympus.

Here's a comparative review for several of the wide-zoom compact cameras. After reading this review I ended up getting the Casio in the review for the wife for Christmas. I got it from Camera Land. They sold me the camera, two year extended warranty, 8 GB card, extra battery, and cheap case for $230 shipped. Get in touch with Doug at Camera Land (gr8fuldoug over on 24hourcampfire) to see what kind of deal he can set you up with whichever one you decide on.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/Q210grouptravelzoom/

I can't comment on the two you picked, but I've had good luck with Panasonics. I was recently comparing the big brother of the Canon (SX30 IS) and a bigger Panasonic (FZ-40) and went with the Panasonic based on some unfavorable reviews of the Canon.

The inherent problem the bigger zoom cameras face is the fact that they are also increasing megapixels, but not sensor size. Do some reading on the Dpreview forums. You might also want to check out Cameralabs.