A sheep for me, maybe...

the nikster

So, I have this friend who has about 40 sets of sheep horns. He has collected/documented them over many years from several units within Idaho. He finds them in the spring after they die. His collection includes 1 especially large ram.
We have hiked together many times and his stories have captured me.
I have seen rams while on elk hunts, but I see them in units which the state claims hold no sheep.
And so I have applied for a permit this year. Total Novice Here!
Yes, I know, my chances are slim, but...
I have done several remote hunts by myself including a couple of Alaskan adventures. My question is this/these:
Weight is critical so what type of sleeping bag/pad is suggested?
I usually just carry a tarp/fly for use as a "tent"-is the extra weight of an actual tent worth it?
What kind of stove? Fuel?
Which foods seem to work the best/are the tastiest?
I don't think my $60 Irish setters will work, any ideas less than $280!?
Should I take an extra pair of camp shoes?
I have a huge pair of binos with big glass, should I scale down?
I have an old beat-up tasco spotting scope, should I scale up?
I will probably invite my friend, if he can't make it, am I a fool to go it alone?
Boy-I sure am confident I'll draw!

Lot's of the Idaho sheep country you can day-hunt from a vehicle in relative comfort. If you're hankering for one of the few wilderness hunts, here are my opinions based on a few trips.

Q- Weight is critical so what type of sleeping bag/pad is suggested?
A- I like down. You can get a decent quality 2 pound bag rated for 20 degrees for not too much coin. I like the the 3/4 length 4 season rated pad. I put the pack under my legs.

Q. I usually just carry a tarp/fly for use as a "tent"-is the extra weight of an actual tent worth it?