Questions about Colorado

guppie9

Hi everyone,

The wife and I are seriously considering relocating to Colorado in the next 3-5 years. I know that is still a ways out, but we are waiting for our property to gain a little more value before we sell. We really anticipate that happening in the next 3-5 years. My question is, what's life really like there? My wife is a nurse and I am a teacher, so we can usually find jobs anywhere without too much difficulty. We like Colorado because of the climate and because it is about halfway between her family and mine. We are really looking at the Colorado Springs area and would like to stay away from big cities like Denver. Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated.

Uhhhh, have you been to Colorado Springs lately? Not exactly small town U.S.A.

The traffic is usually as bad, if not worse there than Denver. I drive through Denver, Ft. Collins, and Colorado Springs quite a bit during the summer. Ft. Collins would be less busy than Colorado Springs.

Ever thought about Cheyenne Wyoming??? Housing is much cheaper, you're only about 45 miles from Ft. Collins, another 35 miles or so to Denver.

You'd be able to buy a lot more house/land for your money in Cheyenne and I'd guess landing jobs there wouldnt be that difficult for either you or your wife. IF you werent able to find in work in Cheyenne, its still a pretty easy commute to Ft. Collins.

Oh, and the hunting would be better in Wyoming...that alone should make your choice real easy. No brainer as far as I'm concerned.

Actually, I hadn't thought about that Buzz. I haven't been to that part of the country in at least 10 years or so. Never been to Wyoming. Thanks for the idea. That gives me something else to think about. I will now let the Colorado and Wyoming folks fight it out!!!!

P.S. Buzz....you will be able to point out all the good spots for me to ride my ATV, right???? :D :D :D :D :D :D