Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

Advice on horse usage?

Muskeez

Two of us have bowhunted elk in the same are in CO the past 2 years. We are still greenhorns but we are getting more experiences and very close to more bulls each year. Unfortunately we are getting farther and farther from the truck. We go in with our packs for 7 days. By the end of the week we are shot and packing a bull out will surely be exhausting but rewarding. Last year if one of our opportunities would have worked out we would have had a 9 mile pack out. According to GPS (as the crow flies). With just 2 guys that makes for several trips out just for one elk and gear.

So, I am looking for suggestions and advice on horses. I have some riding experience but we would likely just walk them in. I can get horses or mules to use from my family but they are flatland horses and get ridden in the "hills" of Iowa mostly. What are your experiences using horses? One concern is the amount of daily care they would need. We like to strike out at sunrise and not come back to camp until after sunset some days. Can horses be tied up with meadow grass to eat during the day and watered at night or do they need food and water throughout the day? If we are chasing elk up on the mountain I wouldn't want to have to climb back down to do horse chores at mid-day, then hike back up to get on elk again. Maybe hiring a packer would be a better option, more expensive but less trouble? We have a Delorme Inreach that we could text GPS coordinates to a packer with. Or maybe we just need to get in nutty good shape like Cam! :eek: I'd better put back this cinnamon roll now if that's the case!

Thanks for any advice from those who have done this before.