Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

Rylie's Montana Shiras

FishN4Eyes

My 16 year-old daughter drew a Montana moose tag this year. I've been putting in for 30 years for a moose tag and have never drawn one so to say I was excited for her would be putting it mildly.

Of course, when you're 16 years old, hunting with Dad is not always the highest on the priority list. Things like friends, boyfriends (I have a lot of trouble with this one!), football games, dances and other teenage activities often take precedence.

I have to admit, I was frustrated when she didn't want to go hunting every weekend but I kept telling myself it was HER tag and not mine and I had to go with the flow and go when SHE wanted to, not when I wanted to, otherwise I would have been down there every waking minute.

We hunted the opening weekend and saw some sign and covered a lot of country, but didn't see any moose. We waited a couple weeks and intended to head back about 10/1 but she got the flu so I made a solo scouting trip down and found a little more sign in a few different areas and also bumped into a grizzly bear. But still no moose sighting.

We headed down to Moose-ville on Friday night to hunt for the weekend. Saturday morning we hunted hard, saw lots of fresh sign but no sightings. Dang, the pressure was starting to build and Rylie was getting a little frustrated as was I.

For the Saturday afternoon hunt, I had a small meadow in mind where I'd seen moose previously while on goat hunts with a few buddies, so I decided to hike in and check it out for something different.

We were a little later than I would have liked so we hustled up the trail which had fresh bear tracks in the mud. Hmmm....the wife and daughter were not thrilled about that and I wasn't overly excited either as I knew we'd be walking out in the dark.

Screw it, let's go! We got close to the meadow about 10 minutes before shooting light ended and slowed down and eased through the trees to the edge of the meadow.