Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

MT Civil Trespass Bill

RobG

Eric Moore's bill SB 299 to create a civil penalty for trespass <click here> passed the Senate 27-23 and will move onto the House soon. It would bypass the criminal trespass law.

I'm not good at reading laws, but I think the way this works is the landowner can collect not less than $1500 from you if he catches you on his land. Since it is a civil case the burden of proof is small. In fact, a photograph is "prima facie" evidence (sufficient proof).

Don't you think that in the age of photoshop this is ripe for abuse? It seems like we need corroboration source such as footprints, etc witnessed by a law enforcement agent. Otherwise folks like Kennedy are going to be transferring us fishermen from being below the high mark to above the mark, and we aren't going to have the resources to prove the photo has been shopped. Hunters obviously face the same problem.

Also, a photograph cannot necessarily prove that you entered the property "knowingly," which is a requirement of the first part of the law. How can this be an enforceable law?

What is the plan with this one? Maybe the best way to get this killed is to photoshop our favorite Senators and Reps or maybe Don Peay on our private land?

Last edited:
wow getting it from every angle in the legislature this year, bend over again average montanans!!!

Last edited:
It's another attach on sportsman. Pieces of private that aren't marked well, only need trail cameras set up. Can you imagine a kid screws up, walks past a camera, then has to pay a fine of $1500. I think this will have a negative effect on youth hunters as well as the OYO types.

Houndsmen will have a big problem if this makes law.

What is the plan with this one? Maybe the best way to get this killed is to photoshop our favorite Senators and Reps or maybe Don Peay on our private land?